Physicians and Clinicians Consortium

October 28, 2017
 10:30 am - 1:00 pm 

The Fairmont Hotel San Francisco
950 Mason St
San Francisco CA


Lawrence J. Hirsch, MD
Professor of Neurology
Chief of the Division of Epilepsy/EEG, Dept. of Neurology
Co-Director of Critical Care EEG Monitoring, Yale-New Haven Hospital
Co-Director, Comprehensive Epilepsy Center
Yale University School of Medicine
New Haven, CT, USA

Dr. Hirsch completed medical school and internship at Yale University, neurology residency at Columbia University, and a two-year fellowship in Epilepsy/EEG at Columbia. He remained at Columbia on the faculty from 1997-2011, where he created and directed the Continuous EEG Monitoring Program at New York-Presbyterian Hospital/Columbia University Medical Center for 10 years, and became Professor of Clinical Neurology at Columbia University in 2010. He moved to Yale University in 2011 as Professor of Neurology, Director of Epilepsy/EEG, Co-Director of Critical Care EEG Monitoring, and Co-Director (with Dr. Dennis Spencer) of the Yale Comprehensive Epilepsy Center.
Dr. Hirsch’s primary interest and expertise are in providing the best clinical care for people with epilepsy or with conditions that mimic epilepsy. He has published more than 150 original research manuscripts and >90 invited reviews, editorials or chapters. His research interests and publications are on topics such as brain monitoring with EEG in the critically ill, status epilepticus, epilepsy surgery, seizure semiology, electrocorticography, brain mapping, effectiveness and tolerability of antiepileptic drugs, brain stimulation for epilepsy, seizure clusters, and sudden death in epilepsy. Dr. Hirsch has directed symposia and lectured at many national and international epilepsy and neurology meetings. He is the founder and former chair of the Critical Care EEG Monitoring Research Consortium. He has won multiple teaching awards, and is co-author of the first-ever Atlas of EEG in Critical Care.

Links to the files of the presentation:

HirschCEEG2017-10–forEFNC – share Part1

HirschCEEG2017-10–forEFNC – share Part2


EFNC Physician Consortium Honorary Executive Board

Josef Parvizi MD, Chair Executive Board, Stanford Medical Center


Executive Board:
Eliza Hagen, MD, Highland Hospital/Alameda Health System
Kim Meador MD, Stanford Medical Center
Brenda Porter, MD, Stanford Children’s Medical Center
Everett Austin MD, Kaiser Permanente
Sharon McDaniel, MD, Kaiser Permanente
Robert Knowlton MD, UC San Francisco
Ken Laxer, MD, California Pacific Medical Center
Nina Garga, MD, Veterans Administration
Jeffery Kennedy, MD, UC Davis
Eniko Nagy-Wilde, MD, Sutter Comprehensive Epilepsy Center
Edwin Cruz, MD, Mercy Epilepsy Center
Cesar Santos, MD, Valley Children’s Hospital



Event made possible by generous grants to the Epilepsy Foundation of Northern California.

Thank you to our Sponsor